Super Smash Soundtrack – Quick Thoughts

I recently got the official Super Smash Soundtrack from Nintendo. For those that don’t know, those who purchased and registered both the 3DS and Wii U of Super Smash Bros get a free soundtrack with music from the game. The soundtrack comes on two CDs, each with 36 songs totalling up to 72. The red CD contains songs from the 3DS version while the blue CD contains songs from the Wii U version. You can find the track list here: http://club2.nintendo.com/smash-promo/

10440668_10153144059727888_6109062620997029072_n

The soundtrack for the Smash games are always amazing, so I was really excited to receive an official package from NIntendo. I was slightly disappointed with the total amount of songs, though, because there are so many good songs from the games, so song selection is key. That said, I feel like they could have done better with the song selection. Obviously, Mario and Zelda are represented a lot with their music, and I don’t mind that, but with the other series, they could have picked other songs that I feel like are better. The songs from Pokemon are represented from the newer games from the DS and 3DS. I wished they included at least a song from the first or second generations. The Fire Emblem song represnted on the blue CD was the fight theme from Fire Emblem Gaiden, where I feel like the Fire Emblem that originally appeared in Melee should have been on it. There aren’t any songs from either the Mega Man or Sonic series (both third parties), possibly due to Nintendo not holding the rights to them. There are songs from Pac-Man, but Nintendo and Namco worked together on this iteration of Smash, so it makes sense to include those songs.

Despite my concerns, they did include some of my favorite tracks from the games. Some of my favorites are “Stickerbush Symphony” and “Jogging/Countdown Theme” on the red CD while my favorites on the blue CD are “Duck Hunt Medley” and “Mario Paint Medley”. The remixes of the old themes from the Super Mario and Zelda are always a joy to listen to, as well as the songs from the Donkey Kong series. The original music composed from the games are also fun.

Overall, the soundtrack is really nice, and a must-have for Nintendo fans. Now if you excuse me, I need to start rocking out to classic Nintendo music as I drive through town.

Leave a Reply

